Monday, December 11, 2006

Swiss Alps

Bernese Alps, Switzerland

The formidable mountain system of the Alps stretches across much of central Europe, with seven countries claiming portions of the mountains within their borders: Germany, France, Switzerland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Austria, and Slovenia. The glacial landscape of the Bernese Alps, located in southwestern Switzerland, is well illustrated by this astronaut photograph. An astronaut took this picture by looking north-northwest while the International Space Station was over the Mediterranean Sea between Corsica and Italy.
Three of the higher peaks of the central Alps are visible: Jungfrau at 4,158 meters (13,642 feet); Moench at 4,089 meters (13,415 feet); and Eiger at 3,970 meters (13,025 feet).


Scott W said...

Yet they appear tiny.

lash505 said...

Do they look like breasts. Also why do I need this information? Are you taking us to the Swiss Alps. Yeah thanks daave.